RSS

Day 17–Love Promotes Intimacy

23 Oct

Today’s Dare:  “Determine to guard your mate’s secrets (unless they are dangerous to them or you) and to pray for them.  Talk with your spouse, and resolve to demonstrate love in spite of these issues.  Really listen to them when they share personal thoughts and struggles with you.  Make them feel safe.”  (The Love Dare, 84.)

Good morning, everyone!  I hope you all had wonderful evenings. I have found myself so exhausted by the end of the day, that I ignore my laptop and pay full attention to the couch.  Last week was difficult and I am still living through the emotional ramifications of the financial messes I am currently working through.  The “pre-love dare” me would have taken all of these frustrations out on my honey.  The new love dare me is opening my eyes and seeing all the help my honey contributes and is breathing without reacting to him for no reason.  I have slipped, but I make a conscience effort to be good and if a slip occurs, I have apologized.

This dare is very difficult.  My honey and I have pretty deep conversations, and I know his fears very well–but to be dares a deep discussion like this–to be done TONIGHT–may or may not work.  It is all situational–depending on how tired either of us are, how late my little one goes to bed, and if we have it in our mental abilities to carry on a conversation with any meaning after our evening is over.  No matter what, every day, I try to stay in the mind-set of Day 1.  So, if I cannot do this dare, I will remain from being negative and I will make every conscience effort to not react badly….This carries the change through, even if I cannot complete this dare.

If I cannot do this dare, I already know my honey’s fears, so I will make a statement regarding them, and let him know that no matter what happens, he will always be my honey and a very good daddy.  This way, the fears are mentioned and he knows I love him…and the dare is complete, but condensed.

The book states that home is a safe place..I take that as we should feel safe, not only within the house as a shelter–but within our hearts–surrounded by people who love us and make us feel emotionally and physically safe.  WE need to reach out to our honeys and make him/her feel safe and loved and secure–especially during all the rough times.

This dare is about showing support, no matter what is disclosed.  We shall not judge.

badchemi

Have a great day!  I will try to return later–but it seems my list just got longer.  🙂  Stay sweet and keep loving those honeys!

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in Days of My Journey

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
